Zara Kazi

Zara Kazi

Frank Manor House

Admissions Counselor
California (see county list)

Additional Information

615 S. Palatine Hill Road
Portland, OR 97219
Phone: 503-713-1203

Hometown: This question has always been a tricky one for me to answer. I am a TCK (third culture kid) so I grew up in many different places and got to call some pretty awesome cities my home. I lived in Singapore for a bit and then lived in Dubai where I graduated high school. Before all that, I lived in San Diego and I lived there the longest. So that is usually the location I choose for the question of where my hometown is if I want to give a shorter answer.

Favorite spot on campus: When I attended Lewis and Clark a spot I really loved to go to was past the swimming pool there were rose gardens on campus, I found that area to be a really peaceful place. I also loved exploring the trails that are behind the Copeland dorms, my friends and I would walk around there often especially after a big brunch at the Bon!

Little-known fact about me: My two favorite snacks in the world are olives and sunflower seeds. For olives, they have to have the pit and preferably green olives. I like my sunflower seeds on the saltier side, my favorite brand being David Sunflower Seeds. So if anyone ever gets me as their secret Santa you now have the intel on what to get me!

Piece of advice for students in the college search process: Choose the college that is the right fit for you. Selecting a college is such a personal experience and it is easy to get swept up in who’s going where. The college search can be such a stressful time that we sometimes forget that this is one of the most exciting times as well! Take it all in, have fun with it, and remember college is what you make of it.

Favorite place to spend time in Portland: One of my favorite places to spend time is at Mt Tabor. It is a beautiful park and just the right amount of hiking for me. I have been trying to make a habit of going every weekend in the mornings. My ideal time to spend there is to grab food from food carts nearby and have a picnic up there with a friend!

If I was stranded on a desert island, I would want these three things: A couple of years ago I got very into the show Naked and Afraid, so I’m going to be leaning heavily on what I learned from that show to choose three items.

  1. A large hunting knife. This item would be essential for meals and day-to-day tasks.
  2. A medium to large tarp; perfect for a shelter and keeping dry.
  3. And last, a water purifier. This one was tough, I was torn between a fishing rod or this, but it is probably important that I am able to drink clean(ish) water!

If I didn’t work in Admissions, I would be: I would probably be working with children in some capacity potentially through research or teaching. I majored in psychology and was really interested in early childhood education. I love learning more about how children learn best and ways educators can help support them with that.