School navigation

For Current Students

Seeking male psychotherapy grad student to be a roommate for 28 year old recovering from Bipolar Disorder and OCD

October 15, 2018

Dear CPSY Grad Students/staff,

We are looking for a male psychotherapy grad student to be a roommate for our 28 year old son who is recovering from Bipolar Disorder and OCD. Our son’s psychiatrist and therapist recommend companionship, to re-develop social skills, for supervision of medication, support to regain his strength, and to build independence.

Compensation for this service would include free rent - one bedroom in a two bedroom apartment near SE Hawthorne and 28th. Utilities and internet are included, and a weekly stipend will be paid for companionship duties. The apartment is spacious and light, in a lively neighborhood.

Our son is a highly intelligent, accomplished musician and writer. He actively cultivates the growth of his humanitarian presence and good heartedness, practicing meditation, qigong and guided imagery several times daily for his self-healing.

An ideal roommate for our son would be a musician, spiritually inclined, a non-smoker, non-drinker, non-pot user, with well-developed communication skills, respects boundaries, clean and neat, kind, honest, big hearted, generous and expressive in spirit, a good student who is home several hours per day. Our son is also a new member of a progressive Portland synagogue and is becoming more active in the Portland young adult Jewish community. While religious preference is not a requirement, a student with a Jewish background or interest would be a plus.

Our son’s care team visits the apartment once or twice per week to bring therapeutic vision and life skills to him, and this would need to be supported by the new roommate.

In addition to medication supervision (9 am and 9 pm -ish), some regular shared and enjoyable social time, shared household chores, cleanliness and order, some meal planning, shopping and cooking are included in the caregiver’s roles. The bedroom is light, has hardwood floors and a large walk-in closet. Time needed to fulfill these roles is approximately 2 hours per day, on an average of 6 days per week.

Please respond by email with resume and contact info ASAP to: tmkahn@gmail.com and we will promptly to discuss this opportunity.

Dr. & Mrs. T. M. Kahn

Share this story on

For Current Students

Contact Us